Home | Font size A A A

Charter Review Commission 2011

On March 7, 2011, the County Council approved Resolution No. 10-2011 appointing the 2011 Charter Review Commission. The Commission consists of 15 residents of Howard County. Five of the members must be selected from a list ten names submitted by the County Executive. No more than ten of the members of the Commission may be of the same political party. The Chair of the Commission is appointed in the resolution designating the members of the Commission.


To view the Final Report submitted to the Howard County Council, click here.


The Charter Review Commission has indicated interest in proposing amendments to the County Charter on the issues in the link below.  As such, the Commission would like to receive public input on these issues, or any other issues that the public would like to review, during the public hearings below or via email at Charterreview@howardcountymd.gov.  

Charter Review Chart of Issues 


The next meeting has not been scheduled at this time.



Donna Richardson, Chair
Mike Davis, Vice Chair
Sharon Ahn
Cynthia P. Ardinger
Regina Clay
Tom Coale
Ed Cochran
Charles Feaga
Alice Giles
Yvonne Howard
Steve Hunt
Sang Oh
Andy Stack
Joshua Tzuker
James D. Walsh



The Charter Review Commission 2011 will hold all of its meetings, at 9:00 a.m. in the Columbia Room of the George Howard Building unless noted otherwise. For more information please contact the Commission at charterreview@howardcountymd.gov or call (410) 313-2001.

Click on the date to hear the audio of the meeting

April 21, 2011  Agenda – in the C. Vernon Gray Room
May 5, 2011  Agenda
May 19, 2011  Agenda – in the C. Vernon Gray Room
June 2, 2011  Agenda
June 23, 2011  Agenda – in the C. Vernon Gray Room
July 14, 2011  Agenda
July 28, 2011  Agenda 
Aug 11, 2011 - Cancelled
August 25, 2011  Agenda
October 13, 2011  Agenda – in the C. Vernon Gray Room
October 27, 2011  Agenda
November 10, 2011 Agenda


September 14, 2011 - North Laurel Community Center
September 20, 2011 - Columbia Room, George Howard Building
October 5, 2011 - Gary Arthur Center




April 21, 2011
May 5, 2011
May 19, 2011
June 2, 2011
June 23, 2011
July 14, 2011
July 28, 2011
August 25, 2011
September 14, 2011
September 20, 2011
October 5, 2011
October 13, 2011
October 27, 2011



1.) Maryland Constitution Article 25A
2.) Howard County Charter - Current & 1968 Charter
3.) Other County Charters
Anne Arundel County Charter
Baltimore County Charter
Harford County Charter Montgomery County Charter Prince George's County Charter
Talbot County Charter Wicomico County Charter
4.) Charter Review Commission 2004 Final Report

Message from the Commission Chair

Dear Commission Members,

Congratulations on your appointment to the Charter Review Commission. I am excited to be working with all of you as your Chair of this important Commission. I would like to set up an initial organizational meeting in order to begin our charge. During this meeting I hope to set the schedule for the coming months where we will hold meetings with officials and public hearings to hear recommendations on amendments to the County Charter. We will also meet with the staff assigned to our Commission, Jim Vannoy with the County Office of Law and Meredith Beach with the Office of the County Council. They will provide information about our responsibilities and background information about previous Commissions.

I would like to hold the first meeting on Thursday, April 21st, at 8:00 a.m. This initial meeting will be held in the C. Vernon Gray Conference Room at the George Howard Building. The meeting should last about an hour and a half. If you are unable to attend in person, but would like to participate by conference call, please let me know.

If you have any questions or concerns, please either contact me directly, or contact Meredith Beach at mbeach@howardcountymd.gov or (410) 313-2001. Also, if there are specific issues or questions that you would like addressed at the first meeting, please let me know. I look forward to working with all of you.


Donna Richardson
Chair, Charter Review Commission


Initial memo from Chair to Members 


To contact the Commission, please email charterreview@howardcountymd.gov or call the County Council office at (410-313-2001).