Charter Review Commission 2011

Under the County Charter, the Council is required to establish a Charter Review Commission every eight years. The Commission consists of 15 residents of Howard County. Five of the members must be selected from a list ten names submitted by the County Executive. No more than ten of the members of the Commission may be of the same political party. The Chair of the Commission is appointed in the resolution designating the members of the Commission. On March 7, 2011, the County Council approved Resolution No. 10-2011 appointing the 2011 Charter Review Commission.

Council Resolution 10-2011
To view the Final Report submitted to the Howard County Council, click here.


Donna Richardson, Chair 
Mike Davis, Vice Chair 
Sharon Ahn 
Cynthia P. Ardinger 
Regina Clay 
Tom Coale 
Ed Cochran 
Charles Feaga 
Alice Giles 
Yvonne Howard 
Steve Hunt 
Sang Oh 
Andy Stack 
Joshua Tzuker 
James D. Walsh 

Initial memo from Chair to Members

The Charter Review Commission 2011 held most of its meetings, at 9:00 a.m. in the Columbia Room of the George Howard Building unless noted otherwise.

(Click on the date to hear the audio of the meeting) 

April 21, 2011  Agenda  Minutes – in the C. Vernon Gray Room
May 5, 2011  Agenda  Minutes 
May 19, 2011  Agenda  Minutes – in the C. Vernon Gray Room
June 2, 2011  Agenda  Minutes
June 23, 2011  Agenda  Minutes – in the C. Vernon Gray Room 
July 14, 2011  Agenda  Minutes
July 28, 2011  Agenda  Minutes 
August 11, 2011 - Cancelled
August 25, 2011  Agenda  Minutes
October 13, 2011  Agenda  Minutes – in the C. Vernon Gray Room
October 27, 2011  Agenda  Minutes


September 14, 2011  Minutes  - North Laurel Community Center
September 20, 2011  Minutes  - Columbia Room, George Howard Building
October 5, 2011  Minutes - Gary Arthur Center


1.) Maryland Constitution Article 25A 
2.) Howard County Charter - Current & 1968 Charter 
3.) Other County Charters 

4.) Charter Review Chart of Issues
5.) Charter Review Commission 2004 Final Report