Calvin Ball Biography

The Honorable Dr. Calvin Ball was re-elected in 2014 to a third 4-year term representing District Two on the Howard County Council which includes the Villages of Long Reach and Oakland Mills in Columbia and portions of Elkridge, Ellicott City and Jessup. In 2006, he made Howard County history when elected youngest Chairperson and is now serving his fourth term leading the County Council. He has also served as Chairperson of the Zoning Board and Chairperson of the Board of License Commissioners.
Dr. Ball is a Maryland native and proud resident of Columbia, where he served three terms on the Oakland Mills Village Board. He is also a former Howard County firefighter and EMT and earned the honor of being the first Community Organizer in Howard County facilitating neighborhood revitalization in the Village of Oakland Mills. As an educator, Dr. Ball believes his top priority is fostering an environment where every student can and does learn and thrive. He continues to be a champion for our environment and served previously as Chair of the Commission on Environmental Justice and Sustainable Communities as well as former member on the Maryland Sustainable Growth Commission, chairing the Education Workgroup. 
Dr. Ball has been honored with numerous awards including the Michaeline R. Fedder Award for Public Health Legislator of 2015, the Marilyn J. Praisner Public Service Award, Daily Record’s 2014 Very Important Professionals Successful by 40 Award, William Donald Schaeffer Helping People Award, Louis Goldstein Award for Democratic Spirit, the Kittleman Award for Legislative Leadership, and the Community Champion of the Year Award.
Dr. Ball holds a Bachelor of Arts in Philosophy and Religion from Towson State University, Master of Arts in Legal and Ethical Studies from the University of Baltimore, where he was nominated for the Spirit of Excellence Award, and Doctor of Education from Morgan State University.
He and his wife, Shani, are the proud parents of two children, Alexis and Alyssa, who both currently attend Howard County Public Schools.