
LIQUOR LICENSE RENEWAL 
 
TO ALL LICENSE HOLDERS: 
 
The 2019-2020 alcoholic beverage license for your business will expire April 30, 2020.  Enclosed 
you will find a renewal form which must be filled out completely and returned ALONG WITH A 
CHECK FOR YOUR ANNUAL FEE between March 1 and April 1, 2020. 
 
The amount of the fee is listed on the back of this page and can be found in the Rules and 
Regulations for the Board of License Commissioners and the Alcoholic Beverage Hearing Board 
on pages 46-47.  
 
Please make the check payable to Director of Finance for Howard County and mail or drop off 
with the completed renewal application to:  Howard County Liquor Board, 3430 Court House 
Drive, Ellicott City, Maryland 21043.   
 
Please note that any changes since your last application must be reported to the Board. 
  
Along with the renewal application, licensees holding a Class B or a Class D license, shall 
submit the annual sales from his/her Certified Public Accountant, or equivalent statement, 
certifying the percentage of gross revenue from the sale of food, and the percentage of gross 
revenue from the sale of alcoholic beverages for the purpose of ensuring the renewal of the 
proper class of license. 
  
Please read your application carefully and make sure every question is answered.  Incomplete 
applications will be returned to the licensee(s). 
  
A $50.00 per day penalty will be charged every day after the deadline of April 1, 2020.  Also, a 
late application could result in your license not being renewed at all. 
 
Any recommendations made by the Fire Inspector or Building Inspector must be completed 
prior to your renewal being issued.  In addition, any delinquent taxes due and owed to the State 
of Maryland must be paid prior to the renewal of your license.  These taxes include Maryland 
Withholding Tax, Admission and Amusement Tax and Retail Sales Tax.   
 
The renewal application can also be found on the following website for your convenience: 
https://cc.howardcountymd.gov/Liquor-License     
  
Your license will be MAILED TO YOU by the BOARD OF LICENSE COMMISSIONERS, during the 
week of April 20, 2020.  If you do not receive your license by April 27, 2020, or you have 
questions regarding your renewal, please contact Robin Regner at (410) 313-2395. 
 

 
 

https://cc.howardcountymd.gov/Liquor-License


 
Class A - Package Goods 

Class A Beer $ 150 
Class A Beer & Light Wine $ 175 
Class A-1 (7-day) Beer, Wine & Liquor $ 900 
Class A-2 (6-day) Beer, Wine & Liquor $ 700 
Class A (Winery) Light Wine $ 50 
*Class A Beer, Wine & Liquor Tasting License $100 
 

Class B - Restaurant and Hotels 
Class BLX -Luxury Restaurant $2,000 
Class B Beer, Wine & Liquor $1,000 
Class B Beer, Restaurant $ 150 
Class B Beer & Light Wine, Restaurant $ 175 
*Class B-SBW – Restaurant and Class B Beer, Wine, & Liquor (B-SBW) $ 500 

 
Class C – Clubs, Conference Centers, Retirement Communities, etc. 

Class C Clubs, Beer & Light Wine $ 150 
Country Clubs, Beer, Wine & Liquor $1,500 
Veterans Clubs, Beer only $ 25 
Beer, Wine & Liquor $ 250 
Conf. Center, Beer, Wine & Liquor $700 
Class C, Affiliate of International Organization of Police $ 500 
Class C, Continuing Care Retirement $ 250 

 
Class D - Taverns 
A Class D tavern license issued prior to November 1, 1981, may continue to be renewed 
on the same terms and conditions in effect at that time. 

Class D Beer $ 150 
Class D Beer & Light Wine $ 175 
Class D Beer, Wine & Liquor  
7 day consumption only on licensed premises $1,000 
6 day consumption only on licensed premises $ 600 
7 day on & off premise consumption $1,000 
6 day on & off premise consumption $ 800 

 
Class GC - Golf Course  

Beer, Wine & Liquor $1,500 
Beer and Light Wine $ 350 
Race Track License $1,000 

 
*Additional licenses 


