About Us

The County Council consists of five members who serve four-year terms and who, since 1986, have been elected from five separate districts. There is a three term limit for Council members. The elected members of the Council serve as the county's legislative branch, as the Zoning Board, and as the Liquor Board. They also provide constituent services for residences in their district. 

Council Members

District 3: Christiana Rigby - Council Chair
District 4: Deb Jung - Council Vice Chair
District 1: Liz Walsh
District 2: Opel Jones
District 5: David Yungmann

How you can participate

The Council welcomes your participation. Here are some of the ways you can get involved:

  • ATTEND a public hearing or work-session.  All of the council’s hearings and work-sessions are held at the George Howard Building, 3430 Court House Drive, Ellicott City, MD. and are open to the public.  Click here for a schedule of upcoming hearings and work-sessions.
  • TESTIFY at a public hearing.  You can testify on an agenda item at any public hearing.  Click here to sign-up in person or on-line.
  • WATCH US on TV or live streamed on the internet; 
    • Council hearings are broadcast on GTV channels by Comcast on channel 99 and by Verizon on channel 44.
    • All counsel hearings are live streamed to the internet. Click here during a hearing to Watch Us.
  • CONTACT US  Click here to write, call or E-mail your Council members.
  • VOLUNTEER to serve on one of the County's many citizen boards and commissions. Click here the see a full list of Boards and Commissions.