The County Council consists of five members who serve four-year terms and who, since 1986, have been elected from five separate districts. There is a three term limit for Council members. The elected members of the Council serve as the county's legislative branch, as the Zoning Board, and as the Liquor Board. They also provide constituent services for residences in their district.
Expand All

District 1

In 2018, Liz Walsh was elected to represent District 1, which includes nationally-designated historic districts in Ellicott City and Elkridge, vast acreages of state park and other dedicated forestlands, and miles of streambanks along the Patapsco River and its smaller tributaries.

District 1 Council Member Liz Walsh

District 2

Opel Jones, a loving husband and dedicated father of three, was elected to the Howard County Council in 2018, and currently serves as Chair of the County Council. Dedicated to the community, Opel mentors, tutors, and volunteers in his free time through his fraternity. He has a background in mathematics, higher education, computer science, and engineering, and recently became a published author. He served formerly as Second Vice President of the Howard County Democratic Central Committee as well as Human Rights Commissioner for Howard County, appointed by then County Executive, Ken Ulman.

District 2 Council Member Opel Jones

District 3

In 2018, Christiana Rigby was elected to represent District 3 on the Howard County Council, which includes the Villages of Owen Brown and Kings Contrivance, as well as communities in North Laurel, Savage, and Jessup. At the Council’s first legislative meeting in 2018, Christiana was nominated to serve as the Chair of the County Council, responsible for guiding the body through its first year in office. From 2018 - 2019, she served as the youngest woman to Chair of the Howard County Council.

District 3 Council Member Christiana Rigby

District 4

Deb Jung has served as the District 4 Councilmember since 2018. Columbia has been her home for more than three decades and she raised a successful Wilde Lake graduate (Go Cats!). Deb brings her professional background as an attorney, years of civic engagement, and a passion for her community to the Council.

District 4 Council Member Deb Jung

District 5

David Yungmann has represented District 5 on the Howard County Council since 2018. He is one of five council members re-elected to a second term and is the sole Republican.  In addition to serving on the County Council, he is a Realtor with his team based in Ellicott City.

District 5 Council Member David Yungmann

Council Information

Expand All

Stay Connected!

Sign up for the County Council's weekly newsletter and stay up to date on everything Howard County.